first_imgANDRE Russell and Chris Gayle have been selected to bolster the Windies squad to face Bangladesh team in the first three One Day Internationals that are the start of the regional team’s build-up to the 2019 ICC World Cup.The first match is scheduled for Guyana’s Providence Stadium on July 22.“This is the start of our prep for 2019 CWC,” said head coach Stuart Law, “opportunities for players to stake a claim to be included in the squad. Great to have Dre Russ back as well. His explosive power and energy will breathe life into an already motivated squad.”Chairman of Selectors Courtney Browne echoed Law’s sentiments especially as it relates to giving players the opportunity to stake claim to be in the side when the two-time world championships begin their campaign for what has been an elusive title.“As we continue to prepare, there are only 16 ODIs leading up to the tournament. The panel will focus on giving opportunities from time to time to players that we believe can add value to the ODI team,” Browne said.“Kemar Roach will be rested for the upcoming series as we continue to manage players’ workload. With the Super50 Championship set for October this year, we will also have an opportunity for regional players to perform heavily and place themselves in line to be considered for selection. The panel wishes Jason and his team every success in the upcoming series against Bangladesh.”Jason Holder, the man of the series in the just-concluded two-Test series, will lead the team that will also be comprised of Devendra Bishoo, Chris Gayle, Shimron Hetmyer, Shai Hope, Alzarri Joseph, Evin Lewis, Jason Mohammed, Ashley Nurse, Keemo Paul, Kieran Powell, Rovman Powell and Andre Russell. Following the opening match of the series at the Guyana National Stadium,  Providence the second match will be played at the same venue on July 25.The action then shifts to  St. Kitts and Nevis where the third ODI has been scheduled to be played at Warner Park on Saturday, July 28.The ODI series will be followed by a three-match T20i series, the first of which will be played at Warner Park on July 31.The second and third T20 internationals will be played at the Central Broward Regional Park on August 4 and 5. Those matches are scheduled to begin at 8:00 pm.last_img